I Am Finished with Those Pants for Good!

IMG_0788 front_edited-4 Well, I finally finished the pair of pants I have been working on. I did a really sloppy job because I  just wanted to finally finish a pair of pants no matter what they looked like. I know I went too fast sewing them. There are lots of mistakes including a sloppy zipper installation on the left and the pants waistband not being even. I also hemmed the pants a little too short.

IMG_0777 (2)_edited-1
I mapaymentde these pants while taking the “Pant Fitting Techniques” class on Craftsy.com. Following the class instructions I made the alterations I thought I needed on the flat pattern and then sewed or altered the sewn muslins (trial garments). Once this was done I asked for  suggestions from the instructor and other classmates on how to make the pants fit and look better. Even though I used their suggestions, I never did get the pants to fit or look decent they way I wanted them to. After the 8th muslin I gave up and just finished the pair of pants I had been working on. They are done and I can wear them. The pants are extremely comfortable and when I bend over the back doesn’t go down! Apparently one of the alterations worked after all.

I don’t think the on line class I took was worth the money I spent. All the information presented in the class is available on the Internet. I could have made all the same alterations, had the same results, without paying for a class.

I am on to sewing skirts and dresses. I know I can make alterations to make them fit, sew them, and have a wonderful finished garment.

Leave a Reply

